TRN Research committee

Chair : Dominic de Cogan – Cambridge University


Sara Closs-Davies – Bangor University (Phd/ECR lead)
Jane Frecknall Hughes – University of Nottingham
John Hasseldine – University of New Hampshire (USA)
Kevin Holland – Cardiff University
Amy Lawton – University of Edinburgh
Ira Lindsay – Surrey University
Adrian Sawyer, Canterbury University (New Zealand)
Ex-officio : TRN Chair – Andy Lymer – Aston University

Terms of reference:

To aid the TRN Ltd Board with the following tasks:

  1. Support designated annual conference host(s) in planning (and where suitable some aspects of delivery) of 2 research days at each annual conference. For example, to include suggesting and helping source key notes, acting as the core of the event scientific committee (others to be added as needed/where need other subject help etc.), acting as chairs of some of the sessions.
  2. Plan and deliver/enable delivery of other ways to support research related activity between TRN members, the wider tax research community and current and new users of tax research between annual meetings. Examples of such activity could include periodic seminars online, launching a discussion forum and/or a blog series, supporting the TRN twitter account with research content and similar as the group thinks suitable but aiming to enable greater tax research discussion, dissemination and activity under the TRN banner between annual meetings. 
  3. One or two members to become leads on Phd/ECR provision at the annual conference/between meetings to address of how can support this important area more effectively – as a core, long-standing, objective of TRN to develop future tax researchers and teachers.
  4. Including one representative from the forthcoming annual conference’s host institution at relevant committee meetings to support discussions related to the organisation/management of the annual conference. 

Reporting to – TRN Ltd Board

Frequency of Meetings – maximum four meetings per year linked to above held mostly as electronic meetings with other periodic email based interaction between these as needed. 

Terms of office – 3 years